It has recently been announced that a new restaurant may be built in your neighborhood. Do you support or oppose this plan? Why? Use specific reasons and details to support your answer.

It is generally agreed today that, my city is not large thus people need more places to visit and spend their time. After the announcement about the new huge shopping center which might be built, there are both positive and negative points of view. Both the advantages and disadvantages will be analyzed before a reasoned conclusion is reached.

On the one hand, shopping is usually related with good aspects of emotions. Another thing to point out is that, it is proved that it has a healing effect on people with mental ailments. In addition, as the shopping center is a place where people can have coffee, lunch and buy daily necessities, it is suitable for people at all ages. Moreover, it is has a perfect atmosphere where we can enjoy our time with friends, having a variety of activities to choose from. A further advantage is that, in my city there is a lack of working places and as a result of building a large structure more vacancies will be opened. As a consequence, the standard of living to a lot of people will be improved. For instance, an acquaintance of mine can have a job after a while and will be able to support her family financially as she does not have such an opportunity at present.

On the other hand, having this building will disturb some of my neighbors. There will be a lot of people visiting the new center and consequently there will be fewer parking places, so people will certainly have to park far away from their homes. On account of this, air pollution will be increased and people living nearby will get ill easier. Because of the activity in the streets will arise, it will be more dangerous for children to hang out. All the overcrowdings will create a lot of noise and will deprive some people of the appropriate atmosphere they used to have. For example, old people living near the place will not be able to go to sleep early at night.

In conclusion, it cannot be denied that the new building in my neighborhood will bring various opportunities for people to enjoy their time and to change their life. However, it can cause discomfort, insecurity and health problems. I believe that our health is more important so I oppose this idea.