It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

One momentous stage in a child’s growth is certainly the development of a conscience, which is linked to tell right from wrong. Hence, a contentious dispute has been provoked over whether retribution is essential for children to comprehend this distinction. In my dissenting opinion, this paradigm deems to be unavailing, but there are other ways that could be effectual.

To begin with, sanctions on children at an early age is morally wrong. This is because it could lead to serious repercussion. One of these counterproductive effects is the feeling of repression which conduces to aggression. For example, when these children encounter a challenge, the first demeanour they exhibit is hostility. By seeking corporal retribution, young children will most probably have a predilection toward solitude as they are afraid of physical punishment resulting in lacking social skills.

Nonetheless, although the notion of chastising seems to be the sole means to learn the difference between right and wrong, the education of principles of ethics could be efficacious. To illustrate, parents should earn their children as friends, so that they can teach them about moral values whereas they should discourage them from wrong behaviours, thereby apprehending what is right and wrong. Furthermore, withdrawal of privileges as consequences of unacceptable attitude can be an optimal approach as well.

In conclusion, my firm conviction is that penalizing young children is an erroneous tendency which has adverse impacts, yet to teach them the difference between right and wrong, they should know the implications of virtue ethics and undesirable actions.