It is important to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction.

to what extent do you agree and disagree with this opinion?

what sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behavior to children?

In the childhood stage, knowing both right and wrong are rudimentary cognitive skills. Accordingly, this has prompted a vigorous debate that parents should punish their children to distinguish between right and wrong. In my opinion, I think that punishment is not the best option, but there are other effective ways to assist them.

As a matter of fact, by using penalties in discipline, it will more likely have counterproductive on children physically and psychologically. For example, if youngsters made some mistakes, their parents would prohibit them from playing. They, therefore, will suffer emotionally, and in long term they will be destructed in their life. Teachers, likewise, punish young students by beating them due to they have not done homework. As a result, they could physically hurt. According to a recent study, the high rate of violence is found in the communities where the punishment approach is used for discipline.

However, there are efficient methods associate with educating children about the principles of ethics. Parents should earn their children as friends because it will help the parents to teach them if their actions either right or wrong. Teachers, as well, can correct the young students’ mistakes in a quiet manner due to teachers are a role model for them, so they are going to act in the same manner as their teachers. Both encouraging and supporting them for doing the right conduct such as cleaning and tidying their rooms may lead to enhance their moral obligation.

In conclusion, I believe that penalties have adverse effects on children. Nonetheless, there are other efficient ways such as earn them as friends, correct their mistakes quietly and encourage them for the right actions.