It is more important for school children to learn about their local history than the world history. Do you agree or disagree? Give your opinion and examples.

History broadens the horizon of one's knowledge about the past happenings. It has been controversial whether learning about the local history is of greater significance for juveniles than knowing about the world history or not. Here, i would like to discord with the given statement.

There are multifarious points to shore up my view. First and foremost, the knowledge of world history highlights the international scenario to clear the prospectives of someone at international level. To demonstrate, unlike local history, one can get informed about the policies of past leaders or distinct countries in terms of social, commercial and political matters by learning the world history. Apart from it, sacrifices of martyrs and examples of some most influential leaders of the world could be a source of inspiration and bravery. Therefore, one who gets informed about the history of entire globe finds it easy to settle himself at international level compare to an individual with the knowledge of only local history.

Further emphasizing on my point of view, the world history also portrays the world wars of former times with the comprehensive description of causes, effects and consequences. To be specific, knowing about the destruction of two major cities Hiroshima and Nagasaki in Japan can aware a person about the heart rendering results, exploitation and cruelty towards the mankind during world wars. Hence, having familiarity with the world history can make an individual better thinker and planner. On the contrary, others have contrasting views.

They think that being informed about local history makes a child respectful towards cultural, historic and ancestral values of his native country. More significantly, they can think of the sacrifices of martyrs and bravery shown by the leaders of their home country. Thus, teaching local history is worthwhile to install patriotic spirit among adolescents. On the flip side, world events may not have close association or direct linkage with their personal lives. Consequently, local history deserves more priority than global past.

To recapitulate, undeniably, the importance of local history can never be underestimated ; however, i still believe in this era of globalization, boundaries between nations are no longer of that importance. Therefore, providing lessons of world history is the need of an hour in the schools.