It is a natural process for animal species to become extinct (e.g. dinosaur, dodo…) There is no reason why people should try to prevent this from happening. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent decades, The prevention of animal extinction has been drawing a pool of media attention since it would consume huge resources of society. However, the benefits of preserving species’ existence would be superior to the oppositions.

There are a number of reasons for protecting the existence of animal species. Firstly, As the hypothesis mentioned, the extinction of several species is the natural process. There is no evidence to justify it, for instance, the disappearance of dinosaurs was not derived from natural selection, it was inherently due to the outer space meteor hitting the earth surface generating the gigantic energy sufficiently to destroy any species catastrophically. It is clear that the extinction of animals should be attributed to human-caused activities, with the exceeding exploitation of natural resources such as deforestation and unlimited fishing resulting in significantly decreasing the animal population and inhabitation. In addition, industrialization and modernization among nations created the Greenhouse effect majorly stemmed from the CO2 emission from factories and human activities, leading to the climate change threatening to the animal living environment.

It is true to say that biodiversity would be advantageous for human beings as a whole. The existence of humans attached to the animals which have been providing food and products from the prehistoric time. Preserving and flourishing the animal population is the only way to thrive human societies, seeing that without animals, the imbalance in nature would create disaster for both humans and animals. For example, in recent years, scientific evidence has pointed out that bees are on the brink of extinction owing to the destruction of their environments from human activities while this species plays an indispensable role in natural pollination, without those, flora would be perished or even vanished.

In conclusion, the coexistence between humans and animals is enormously important. Therefore, governments associated with animal preservation organizations should be the frontiers in enacting regulations and publishing research to educate people regarding protecting animal species.