it is not uncommon that children are required to obey the rule of their parents and teachers. some people are worried that too much control over children will not prepare them well for their adult life. discuss both views and give your opinion.

adults' intervention hold a vital position on children's development mentally and physically. despite this general knowledge, people are often confronted with the arguments about the appropriateness of enforcing rules and requiring children's compliance. i agree that rules set by parents and teachers contributes to the shaping of children's behaviors, however, these rules should be phased out when they grow older.

it is an irrefutable that setting rules on children bestows a myriad of benefits. firstly, it is deemed as the most effective method in overcoming some upbringing difficulties, such as protecting them from potential threats and guiding them to act rationally. admittedly, children are curiosity about everything surrounding them and attempt to discover various activities, either with deliberation or on the spur of movement. hence, imposing rules on daily routine prove necessary. for example, only by forbidding accessing knives, sharp households or even curbing their time on watching television can children minimise the risk of unwanted accidents and injuries. besides, by imposing rules, children are highly likely to develop proper demeanour in different social situations and to adhere to strict rules of professional etiquette from their early childhood. for instance, children are prohibited some certain destructive acts such as nose-picking, foul language or spitting.

nevertheless, making children to follow firm rules on a strictly basis tend to restrain children's mental development. in a traditional classroom, for example, students are not allowed neither to pose questions at will nor challenge teachers' answers with a view to underpinning the authority of teachers by setting rules. this can make them become monotonous and children will be deemed as mechanical or rote learners, while their aptitude for creativity is stifled. even worse, these rules would hamper children to think critically and voice their thoughts.

as indicated above, i think that the appropriateness of rules is indisputable, however, it can be complemented in accordance with children's age. for younger children, strict rules should be set to ensure children's safety and steer them from health problems, while these rules should be concerned to improve their social behaviors. in addition, when children become more responsible and knowledgeable, rules should be abolished.