It is the responsibility of schools to teach children good behavior in addition to providing formal education. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that schools should be responsible for educating youngsters about how to behave properly on top of teaching the mandatory curriculum. From my personal perspective, I totally disagree with this view due to teachers’ limited expertise to do so and schools’ syllabus becoming more challenging.

The first reason why I argue that schools should not teach good manners to children is that it is not reasonable to expect teachers, who are primarily trained in academic knowledge, to be experts in teaching good behavior. To be more specific, they are only educated with academic knowledge required for the school subjects. Moreover, some teachers may exhibit inappropriate behavior themselves, which would undermine their credibility as role models. A perfect instances would be stories about teachers discriminating students based on their sexual orientation, bullying students for their poor acedemic performances, or even molesting them.

An additional justification is that the burden of school curriculum has increased substantially in recent years, leaving little room for additional subjects such as manners. Students nowadays are required to learn a wide range of subjects, including mathematics, physics, biology, languages, and extracurricular activities, such as clubs and volunteering. Adding a subject on manners would only make the curriculum more burdensome and challenging for students, who already struggle with time management and stress.

In conclusion, I’m firmly convinced that it is not schools’ function to impart how to act well to their young students. My arguments include the insufficient qualifications of the teachers and increasing study workloads. Given that educational institutions should only focus on its original purpose which is teaching formal academic knowledge for the future workforce.