The knowledge was stored in books in the past. Today knowledge are stored on the internet. Do the Advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages

In recent decades, the proliferation of the internet and the development of technology has been expediting the digitalization of knowledge materials including books. Although digital documents would be able to bring more benefits than the physical ones, the existence of traditional books itself is still critical.

It is evident that the knowledge archived on the internet would be advantageous in several aspects. In the past, in order to store the knowledge and expertise in reading materials, the government or institutions had to construct buildings used for stocking books and recruit a number of employees to manage these buildings, which occupied the major resources of the organizations. Therefore, with the advancement of technology, the knowledge can be stored in the digital books without wasting too much resources. In addition, there is the fact that books are inherently made from wood, resulting in the deforestation for manufacturing paper. Consequently, online books would save thousands of tons of lumber as well as enhance the consciousness of protecting the environment from book users.

There is another appealing advantage of stored knowledge online. It will be easier to constitute the reading community worldwide, people globally could connect one another to exchange and discuss books’ contents conveniently thanks to the internet. However, the existence of physical books still plays an important role in archiving knowledge, libraries in which traditional books are kept is not only the place to store human knowledge but also the symbol of the culture of nations.

In conclusion, digital books have become steadily prevalent in this technological era, carrying a huge benefit for readers and reducing the resources put on conventional books. Nevertheless, knowledge in the physical books must be simultaneously maintained and preserved as the heritage for future generations.