Levels of youth crime are increasing rapidly in most cities around the world. What are the reasons for this, and suggest some solutions.

Over the last few years, the rate of juvenile crime has escalated dramatically in many cities across the globe. This is, possibly, the most serious issue for parents, teachers and governments to contend with. This essay will look at the reasons for this and propose some solutions.

One of the primary causes of the problem is the absence of discipline in the home. Nowadays, most families have two working parents, so, their children are undoubtedly left at home with technological devices, and given very little guidance on how to distinguish between good things and bad things. Moreover, because parents feel guity about not spending enough time with them, they are often lenient with what their children want to do, even bad behaviours. As a result, a lot of children are lured into social evils such as drugs and alcohol abuse, prostitute, pickpocket, mugging, even enrolling in terrorist organizations. A way of solving this would be for parents to pay more attention to educate adolescents, which will help giving them right eyes on the world around and how to stay away from crime.

Another factor is the discrimination at school. In America, for example, the discrimination has been a common thing in every class, which has bad affects on mental health of students: depression, communication problem, negative thoughts. Consequently, many children find delinquencies including violent crimes a great way to release stress and catch attention from other people. One way to solve this issue is for teachers to show students the dangerous of bad treatment and the important of cooperation and union, as well as for parents to understand the cause of their bad behaviour, express love and support to their children. These may help adolescents to overcome difficulties at school, in this way they will be able to have positive attitude towards society.

A third cause of the problem is the impact of violent media on teenagers. Instead of playing outdoor, teens tend to sit in front of television or computer with thousands of games and films, and unfortunately, violence is one of the most popular form of entertainment. Games and films promote teens to imititate in order to fulfill risky, adventurous, odd feelings,.. The movie called “The Matrix”, for example, was said to be the triggering factor to the violent high school students that wore trench coats. This kind of entertainment also prevent young adults the ability to distinguish between what is reality and what is not, and children become more familiar with how to act out violence without consequences. As a result, teens are more likely to perform violent activities but not knowing that what they are doing is wrong or inappropriate. The way forward could be to encourage young adults to participate in activities outside as well as lessen the time they exposure to games and films.

To sum up, juvenile crime has become a very serious issue in many countries, and this is due, by and large, to a lack of discipline in the home, discrimination and violent media. Failure to tackle this problem now will lead to its escalating out of control. I am of the view that the main responsibility for solving the problem lies with parents and teachers