Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems as well as practical problems

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement

Recently, the phenomenon of living in a foreign country and its corresponding impacts have sparked a long-running dispute. In this regard, apart from miscellaneous social and practical problems which people may encounter by living in foreign countries, we shouldn’t lose sight of its benefits. In my view, people who experience living in foreign countries instead of their motherlands will face various social and practical difficulties.

Obviously, adaptation with destination culture is one of the most significant problems that individuals who like to settle in foreign countries must find ways to deal with. It is likely that, at first days or perhaps first months, these people will struggle with how to communicate with others even in their everyday greeting. In addition, the education of children in schools and adolescences in universities would become their parents’ concerns in foreign countries.

Moreover, there are many different practical troubles due to low language proficiency. For instance, making appointments by doctors or explaining symptoms of diseases in hospitals would turn to a disaster for people who decide to live in countries with different languages. Despite the fact that doing routine shopping in their own countries is a piece of cake, this matter may become a nightmare in foreign countries.

On the other hand, living in a country rather than native country provides opportunities to individuals who have to speak a foreign language. As a tangible example, being in the atmosphere of foreign language is the best way to learn that language according with linguistics. Thus, becoming bilingual leads to prevent or at least alleviate some age-related diseases in the years to come. Meanwhile, living in other nations paves the way to be accustomed with other cultures as well as widening insights.

To sum up, despite compelling arguments on both sides, I am inclined to believe that living in a foreign-language country causes various problems with respect to everyday and social life. Imaging, in the first days of migration, you attend a hospital because of your backache while your language skills is not polished yet. But practitioners prescribe you a dental surgery due to misunderstanding!