Maintaining public libraries is a waste of money since computer technology can replace their functions. Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that the upkeep of public libraries is a waste of financial resources since their purposes now could be performed by computers. From my personal perspective, I totally agree with this opinion for the following reasons.

The major consideration why I do not support the preservation of public libraries is that readers can nowadays find any materials on the Internet. More specifically, nearly every book and document that used to be exclusively available in public libraries has been now digitalized and uploaded on the Internet where users can conveniently download. Therefore, individuals no longer need to travel to libraries to borrow reading materials, which renders them redundant.

Another rationale for my concurrence is that people can also permanently possess materials free of charge on the Internet. This can be explained by their being able to assess many piracy websites which allow them to freely download copyrighted books to their preferences. In contrast, in the case of public libraries, readers have to pay or deposit fees to borrow books, not to mention that they are only permitted to borrow within a limited number and have to return on time. As a result, people are becoming less and less favorable of them, which would make the maintenance a waste of budget.

In conclusion, I am totally convinced that keeping public libraries is unsound spending due to the rise of computers. The arguments are that any reading materials are available on the Internet and people can forever own books without payment. Given that I suggest governments should spend taxpayers’ money allocated for maintaining public libraries on other more important issues such as public infrastructure or education.