In many cities crime is increasing. Why do you think this is happening? What can governments do to help reduce crime levels?

In numerous of cities crime rate is growing up. I think, due to lack of education and poverty, crime is happening. However, although crime is a worse problem in the cities, governments can reduce it by providing job opportunities and by implementing some stringent laws against criminals.

Number of factors contribute in the inclining rates of crime. Firstly, since the rate of poverty has increased, people are following the path of crime because they have not any source of earning money therefore,masses involve in the crime. For example, a recent study in India showed that majority of criminals had belonged to poor families. Secondly, lack of education is also the reason of crime, being uneducated folks cannot get jobs at the respected field of works and without education they have not specific knowledge and living in the society and behave with others. Which finally leads them on the crime path

Higher authorities can taken some steps to for reduce the crime. First and foremost, free education must be available for the poor children. So they can make their future better by gaining vast amount of knowledge and experiences from the study institutions. However, governments should also create more jobs related to all fields such as in the factories where even illiterate can work and earn some amount money. Last but not least, criminals should be penalized with Stringent punishments which can set an example in front of others and force them to avoid to choose paths of crime.

In conclusion, though crime is increasing at alarming rate, owing to the lack of job opportunities and poverty. But in my opinion, governments may solve this by providing some facilities and enacting the laws.