In many cities, security measures, such as the use of video cameras in public places,are being increased in order to reduce crime, but some people believe that these measures restrict our individual freedom.

Do the benefits of increased security outweigh the drawbacks?

It is obvious that an increase in the number of crime leads to a rise in the number of video cameras in public places. While some people hold a view that video camera usage in public places could contribute to crime reduction, others think that it is an invasion of privacy.

On the one hand, it is obvious that surveillance cameras provide several benefits. The first and foremost benefit is that they enable us to monitor any suspicious activity that prevents criminal actions before happening. Since potential criminal are aware of being under detection of cameras and might be caught red-handed, they are reluctant to offend. In addition, they create a room for gathering evidences. The clear images coupled with flawless sound makes them more efficient than ever at recording a series of happenings without missing on anything. Therefore, they provide a sense of security to people.

On the other hand, the installation of those cameras pose a great threat to the privacy of an individual. Privacy is one of the most basic human rights and those cameras impinge on personal freedom. They might hold a view that they are under constant surveillance without their permission, which leads to irritation and discomfort. For example, when people are walking down the street, driving in their car, or hanging out with boyfriends and girlfriends, they will be monitored with cameras placed in public. People might feel it difficult to concentrate on doing their things since they are conscious that cameras watching their every move. Another reason is that they create a sense of suspect in the minds of people because everyone can be a suspect. People are also afraid of those footages being leaked and uploaded on social networking sites.

In conclusion, although security camera systems play an important role in crime deterrence and safeguard residents, the drawbacks outweigh the benefits.