In many countries, people now wear Western clothes (suits, jeans) rather than traditional clothing. Why this happens? Is this a positive or negative development?

In various nations, the Western clothing such as suits or jeans have been worn than local costumes in recent years. There are several reasons for this trend and I believe this brings both pros and cons to people’s life.

To begin with, Western garments have been prefered to traditional ones for some reasons. First and foremost, the fashion trend becomes more popular. The famous celebrities often choose products designed by some well-known designers from Western countries. Being affected by this, youngsters who admire the idols would imitate the style of their idols. In addition, the social development of local areas leads to the cultural integration. The tourism brings foreigners to their country and this could influence to the local inhabitants by a new fashion trend. An interesting example of this is suits are required in almost company and jeans are suitable for casual occasions than local clothes such as Ao Dai of Vietnam or Hanbook of Korea.

On the one hand, one of the outstanding benefits of Western style clothing is comfortable and convenient than traditional ones. For instance, with different materials and wonderful styles of Western costume, people can find easily ones that fit them well and suit for any activities such as study or picnic while traditional clothes often have so many layers and are too complicated that they are impossible for people to wear them on a daily basis . On the other hand, this trend leads to the loss of culture and tradition. Traditional clothing present long-term history of a nation but some young adults refuse to preserve it because they believe it sometimes old-fashioned.

In conclusion, there are a great number of reasons behind this tendency and in my point of view, upsides and downsides as well.