In many countries, there are 24-hour TV programs. Is it a positive or negative development ?

We have witnessed more and more population on TV programs. In my perspective, I think that it has both positives and negatives development.

There are certainly some benefits of 24-hour TV programs. One of the benefits is that it can boost the income of local business. The longer the TV programs are the more commercial advertisement audiences will see. By watching the advertisements on television, local people would tend to purchase more luxury goods and branded products from shopping malls. Apart from this, there is more alternatives for entertainment. In Australia, generally speaking, there are not many activities or events at night, therefore people usually get bored easily. 24-hour TV programs are definitely a good choice for local citizens to kill time.

However, there are some pitfalls in this development. To start with, it is detrimental to our health. With the sensational visual effects and funny plots, 24-hour TV programs easily captivate the attention of audiences. Consequently, people are sitting in front of the screen for a long time, which may increases the risk of developing diseases. Another problem is that employees of media companies are experiencing more stress. In order maintain the operation of the business, they have no choices but to keep working overtime. This naturally increases the level of stress of employees. As a result, the business of the media companies may have undesired outcomes.

In conclusion, although there are equally positive and negative impacts, I still think that the positives outweigh the negatives because TV surely can boost up the economy level.