In many countries, traditional foods are being replaced by international fast foods. This is having a negative effect on both families and societies. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Traditional cooking is giving way to international convenient outlets in many nations. I am completely on board with the opinion that such trend engenders problems in families and societies.

The most obvious drawback of taking over traditional foods with international fast ones would be the poor health it brings to families. Convenience foods, such as burgers and chips, are high in calories, sodium and saturated fat, which are detrimental to people’s health and would lead to obesity. A growing body of studies reveal that people who regularly eat junk foods have a higher risk of suffering from obesity and some other diseases including hypertension and diabetes. So if such unhealthy diets are replacing traditional meals, higher chances are that more families would be undertaking serious healthy issues.

More serious problem would be given rise to societies when more international foods substitute traditional ones, namely the loss of tradition. When residents prepare and enjoy their traditional foods which embed their unique cultural characteristics, people are likely to develop a sense of cultural identity as well as belonging to their home country. However, such cultural inheritance would be missed out upon if their ancient ways of cooking are replaced by international ones. A recent study done by Peking university in China shows that 68% of Chinese young people nowadays prefer coffee to traditional tea, and only several among 500 interviewees are aware of their conventional procedures of drinking tea. Therefore, alone with the loss of traditional foods is the loss of a whole way of living.

Of course, this is not to say that international fast foods are always harmful. They are popular for reasons and the most vital one is the convenience they bring to family life. That is because in this highly competitive world, people are getting busier with work, and eating fast foods can save them some time. However, comparing with the negative effects to health and culture, the benefits of time saving could not be justified.

To conclude, a poor family health as well as a loss of tradition is linked to less traditional foods and more international fast foods. While some minor benefits are noticed, the overall effect is pessimistic.