Many countries use fossil fuels such as coal or oil as the main sources of energy. However, in some countries the use of alternative sources of energy is encouraged.

Do you think this a positive or negative development?

As a result of some environmental problems which have resulted from dependence on fossil fuels, some countries have invested in alternative energy sources. Although there are some disadvantages in this new approach, I wholehearted believe that the benefits outweigh the drawbacks.

On the one hand, there are certainly some negative consequences in increasing reliance on alternative energy sources. Perhaps the main concern is the issue of safety. Nuclear power is always criticized for its potential to pollute environment. The accidental explosion at Fukushima Daiichi in Japan always reminds the public of the dangers of nuclear plants. The poisonous and radioactive emission from the disaster not only killed a lot of people, but also left cancer death for the next generations. Another energy source, wind power, is criticized for causing noise pollution. It also damages the landscape when wind farms are installed.

On the other hand, alternative energy sources help us to protect our planet because they are environmentally friendly. Firstly, unlike the burning of fossil fuels, almost all the alternative energy sources produce little or no waste such as carbon dioxide or other chemical pollutants. Therefore, they are eco-friendly and do not contribute to air pollution. Secondly, solar and wind power are both renewable sources of energy. Instead of depending on fossil fuels which are becoming exhausted, a use of renewable energy will guarantee a boundless supple of energy for the future generations.

In conclusion, despite the safety concern and other impacts, it is worth supporting the use of alternative energy sources.