Many criminals re-offend after they have been punished. Why do some people continue to commit crimes after they have been punished, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

Crimes have spoiled millions of human lives. In many cases, people that have been imprisoned commit illegal actions after they are out of a jail. This essay will discuss the main reason for re-offending crimes as well as provide a feasible solution for this issue.

If an individual is caught performing forbidden activities, a society usually stamps criminal as an undesirable participant. Therefore, once a prisoner is free, they face a number of troubles connected to reintegration to the society. Most of the employees refuse to hire a person that has been accused in committing any crime even after decades. Moreover, most of the population prefer to keep a social distance from such people, making a friendship for former criminals to be hard to obtain. All these reasons lead them to continue to perform illegal activities again and again. In other words, the social distancing to prevent criminals to become a valuable part of a society.

In order to overcome the above-mentioned problem, the primary goals for the judicial system should be a reintegration of people that have made a mistake rather than punish them. If a person would be given a second chance and the society would want to provide this chance, individuals who were prisoners in the past would have all social capabilities. Since ordinary life is more beneficial and safe than the lifestyle of a criminal, the majority of human beings would stop committing restricted actions. According to the United Nations report, the fraction of re-offending crimes is significantly smaller due to the fact, that the main desire of their jail system is the reintergration of every person who appears there.

In conclusion, this essay highlighted the main reason for the phenomenon and suggested a viable solution.