Many museums charge for admission while others are free.

Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission outweigh the disadvantages?

Museums open new doors of knowledge and awareness to the people. While some have a conviction that entrance fee should be applied in the museums, others believe that the cons of charging the visitors are far more than its pros. This essay will elaborate the merits and drawbacks of this viewpoints, and I think in spite of some disadvantages, admission fee has to be paid.

First and foremost, entrance charges are a good financial source to compensate museums expenditures. Undoubtedly, preservation of the museums, including maintaining of its building to keeping the historical stuffs in specific circumstances, costs significant amount of money. As the government give tax from the citizens to present them better services, entrance fee enables museums to provide better and constant facilities for the visitors and even for the next generation. According a survey has been conducted at Harvard University, the explicit expenses of museums equal to the one-third of the total cost of a city with approximately 1 million residents.

To support the seconds standpoint, some people may not afford the admission charges. Inevitably, class distinction impulses some limitation to the lower bracket income of the society so that they have been deprived from receiving particular services. This discrimination is not limited to museum fees and it spread throughout various level of lives such as medical insurance, social services and even education facilities. Therefore, if governments would have a plan for these obstacles, these vulnerable people could have been able to utilize such services.

On the basis of the points mentioned above, although the adverse consequences of museums’ admission fee can bring some disadvantages, its beneficial is necessary to assist retaining this precious industry.