Many old buildings are protected by law because they are part of nation's history.

However, some people think old buildings should be knocked down to make way for new ones because people need houses and offices.

How important is t to maintain old buildings? Should history stand in the way of progress?

Some governments are paying special attention on maintenance of historic architecture as it reflects a country's heritage. Nevertheless, this has faced objection by the opponents who are of the view that housing and offices should be the ones replacing the sites of old buildings highlighting the dominance of necessity over history. However, protecting old buildings is of utmost importance and should never be underestimated.

To begin with, there are many solid reasons supporting the significance of old buildings. Firstly, every old piece of construction is a silent story teller of the histor...

*** The full content of this essay is available to VIP readers

Subscribe as testbig VIP readers and get unlimited access to essays on the top list.