Many people are busy with work and do not have enough time to spend with family and friends. Why does this happen? What are the effects of this on family life and society as a whole?

An increasing number of employees nowadays find it hard to juggle work with family and friendship commitment. I believe both company and employees are there to blame for this phenomenon, and a lack of intimacy in family as well as stability of society would be caused accordingly.

The main reason for an unbalanced life would be the heavy workloads that employees are suffering from. It is not uncommon for workers to have hectic schedules as well as strict deadlines, as companies want to make more profits but at the same time cut cost. Another possible factor fueling this phenomenon would be related to the working habits of employees. Some employees are not competent in time management and prioritizing tasks on a daily basis, therefore leading to lower efficiency at work, which could have a negative effect on their work-life balance.

Several consequences could be linked to a busy life. The first and most obvious would be a low- intimacy family life. If people regularly commune with their friends and family, they can share their difficulties in work and life, and receive suggestions from their beloved ones. During this process, workers feel understood and supported. However, such family intimacy and sense of belonging are missed out upon when workers are overwhelmed by their work and find no time to allocate to family members.

A chaotic work-family life can also do a disservice to the stability of the society. This is because when people are inundated with work pressure and find nowhere to alleviate, high chances are that they would go through a series of mental illnesses, leading to a higher suicide rate. In 2019 one of the biggest multinational corporation Google had experienced several continuing cases of workers killing themselves after months of working overtime. Such phenomenon has given rise to drastic discussions and strikings in the workplace, which definitely affects the social cohesion and stability of the country.

To conclude, both companies and employees play a role in busy work life, and negative consequences of lacking intimacy in family life and threatening stability of the society are worth noticing.