Many people argue that society is becoming less and less polite. What is your opinion?

A number of people in modern society are said to behave in worse manners than before, whether less respectful to the elderly in families or being rude to strangers. I believe in this statement.

Untold evidences from our experiences can be found to prove this statement. Firstly, technology makes its own contribution to the losing of politeness through increasing indifference among people. For example, it is the dominance of mobile phone and Facebook messager that has largely reduced the willingness of people, especially youngsters, to have face-to-face conversations with their family members. This lack of real-life bonding leads to an indifference among people, making them careless, inconsiderate and less respectful of others’ feelings. For example, the younger generation who are attached to mobile phones all the time could forget to give seats to their grandparents in family gatherings, showing less respect to the elder generation. The fast-pace and hectic lifestyle in modern society is another contributing factor to poor manners. Compared to last few decades, today’s people are inflicted with loads of work and are under much heavier pressure of all kinds. As a result, the majority of them tend to have too limited time to get out of their way to help strangers or to show good manners everywhere through minor details such as putting chairs under the table before they leave the food court. Sometimes even expressing the gratitude to waiters in a Café seems to occupy too much time for a workaholic.

However, the above factors do not affect everyone. Most elderly people, compared to younger ones, are less vulnerable to the impact of technology, as they prefer direct communication. They also stick to traditional virtues and moral values more firmly, which prevent them from offending others. Furthermore, inappropriate behaviours of students could be corrected by teachers, and mass media also can facilitate people to establish moral values and ethical standards, which help to retain politeness in the society. Nevertheless, if these assistances were able to work, why there is still a number of news about impolite, rude and indifferent behaviours in the newspaper every day?

The above analysis suggests that our society is losing politeness, and this problem is especially severe among young people.