Many people assume that the goal of every country should be to produce more materials and goods.

To what extent do you agree or disagree that constantly increasing production is an appropriate goal?

As the world evolves, a large number of societies confront different challenges. Hence, a contentious dispute has been provoked over whether maximizing production should be the primary aim of every country. In my opinion, it seems to me that this paradigm can be beneficial, but it is not the optimal choice to be an expedient aim.

To begin with the positives, producing more merchandise can bring a few merits, though. To enumerate, the number of the population is surging radically which conduce to growing their needs. Thus, to meet people’s demand, production should be increased. For example, the population census in China is skyrocketing, so that rising the production is inevitable in order to cater their significant needs. As a result, if a country produces fewer materials, the growing demands could not be satisfied.

However, although raising the production could have merits, the demerits cannot be overlooked. When the production increases, the quantity of a good supplied might exceed the demand that leads to excess supplies. Therefore, economic depression is the adverse consequence of excess supplies, and this poses a credible threat to the community. Moreover, one of this serious repercussion is the inequality in the distribution of wealth resulting in not only prevalence of impoverishment but also a shift in the caste system as thumper echelon of society descend to the lower class. Accordingly, increasing production contributes to the economic downturn.

In conclusion, whilst producing more commodities has benefits, of which catering the continuing needs of societies is the most apparent, it has drawbacks, the most apparent is economic depression. I disagree that maximizing production is the ideal objective.