Many people believe that the social networking sites (such as facebook) have had a huge negative impact on both individual and society. To what extent do you agree?

These days social media websites have expanded to great extent. Some people assert that social media have a great on influence on the people’s life and it brings immense benefits for society. On the contrary, others contend that these websites have detrimental effects on individual and society. from my perspective, I partially agree with the given topic, it could have both benefits and certain drawbacks as discussed below.

To begin with, it is quite apparent to say that social communication websites are playing vital in many different aspects; it brought enormous advantages in human life. One illustration of this is that non-government organization and charitable hospitals and other organization, which are working for betterment of the society could do free advertisement on their pages whenever they needs charity. Another good purpose of these websites could be spreading of positive words through quotes and status, can help individual who is suffering from sadness and anxiety.

To put the topic into perspective, another advantage which is worth considering is that it could help people to find their love ones during the cataclysm of earthquakes and tsunami. Furthermore these social media websites have proved to bring the people together. For instance nowadays, people in different part of the world are becoming friend on Facebook and getting information about others culture, tradition and social aspects.

Yet there is a dark side of the picture, which advocates that social media also responsible for creating tension in the society, like people attacking of others religions and believes. We should not lose the sight of the fact that children are also fond of using social media, some content which are inappropriate for children, now parents are more conscious that these content could lead to a negative impact on their developments.

To recapitulate, it is indeed a debatable topic which needs further analysis and discussion. However, in the light above discussed arguments and examples, it would quite safe to conclude that benefits of social media website outweigh the negative aspects. The disadvantages should be thought as the certain price which we needs to pay due to characteristics of society we live in.