Many people choose to live alone. What do you think the advantages of living alone are and do they outweigh the disadvantages?

There are an increasing number of people who prefer to live alone. This has several reasons for such a trend; the improvement of standard of living, the perception of people changed, the government support for living alone increased etc. As the incremental of population to live alone has brought several advantages, especially freedom and being independents, however the drawbacks of being responsible for freedom and financial burden are inevitable. Those drawbacks for being responsible for every decision can lead to fatal consequences and financial burdens are outweighing its advantages.

Economic and social assistances have helped people to live alone. The reasons for such an increment would be the government’s financial patronage including unemployment benefits and low-budget housings as well as the societal assistance in the form of various products targeting single households such as single packed groceries, already cooked meals and single package for travelling. All those assistances have made people to live comfortably by themselves.

There are several advantages can be brought from living alone, but the main reason would be the independent and freedom. According to the UK statistics, the proportion of living alone has been doubled within 3 years from 10% in 2013. Among those statistics, the majority of people have answered for living alone as the freedom (43%) and the independence (35%), followed by attracting opposite sex (10%), no quarrel between family members (10%) and no sharing personal equipment (2%).

Looking at the detail, people can be enjoyed making all the decisions by themselves. People can learn the consequences from the decision made and to learn about the responsible for such decisions. If they are within families, they may have to tell the full details of their plans for such decisions, which can be bothersome. When people might have to go out at night for friends’ birthday party, they may have to explain the full detail of who that friend is.

Furthermore, people are free from nag and interruptions from parents, so they can enjoy their own lifestyles. All their decisions are based on their will and interest, which can enhance people’s lifestyles. Despite all these advantages of independent and freedom, the responsibilities from independent and freedom are inevitable.

Completely being independent in a decision making process seems advantageous, but the consequences from wrong decision can lead to a lethal consequence. For example, if people have chosen to take travelling around the world without notify anyone, their families can expect of the worst case (death). When people made a wrong decision or judgment, they need an adult’s or family’s help to solve the problem together with elder’s wisdom.

Another overwhelming disadvantage would be the financial management since people have to manage all the finances by themselves. Even though the basic payment can be supported by the government in the form of unemployment benefits and low-housing budgets, which are not enough for entertainment activities (party, travel, eat out) and sometimes their priorities on entertainment led to insufficient account balance to support for living expenses. With all those drawbacks are directing people to learn practical experience and knowledge from families before living alone for wishing for freedom and independent.

In conclusion, as the society and economic developed, living alone can be easily achievable. There are several advantages and disadvantages for living alone. Regardless with the getting and learning independent and freedom of lifestyles, the worth of responsibilities and financial knowledge are weigh more.