Many people think that the government should spend money to outer space, while others believe that it’s a waste of public money.

Discuss both views and include your own opinion.

In recent years, there is a common phenomenon that governments invest a massive amount of money in space industry. The issues of whether it is a waste of money or not remains a source of controversy. While there is a strong case for the latter view, I am more inclined to the former.

Those in favour of this policy may state that this strategy would bring two main advantages. The first and foremost rationale they may argue is that this would offer an alternative solution to overpopulation. As we might discover another life-bearing planet in outer space, Earth inhabitants can migrate there, alleviating overcrowding. A further noticeable advantage of space industry is that we might be capable of witnessing a superior alien civilisation, which enables us to expand our knowledges about universe. This would also mean that we can develop our new technologies based on theirs. For instance, we can finally understand how to manipulate gravitation and build futuristic gadgets such as flying cars.

On the other hand, I find it more convincing to believe that funding space research has its detrimental effects. First of all, it take years and millions of dollars to construct a spacecraft and then launch it onto the universe. Instead, we should sharpen our focus on pressing issues of the Earth such as developing infrastructure and facilities. Another drawback of space travelling lies in its huge initial cost as this newly-emerging industry requires an enormous investment from both enterprises and governments.

In conclusion, although it is undeniable that space industry brings benefit to the whole society, I am more inclined to the view that we should focus on confronting our current problems instead.