Many people think that public celebrations (like national holidays, festivals etc.) are a waste of money and that the government should spend those funds in a better way. Do you agree or disagree?

It is a widely held belief that public holidays is crucial for society and state should pour money for that. But there are strong counter arguments by a section of people who think that government has to solve the public problems. I am of the opinion that this matter should be debated in the light of several factors before any conclusion can be drawn.

First and foremost, in the new era, people face to many stress and pressure moods in this life. Therefore, social members need more holidays to ameliorate their lifestyle and stress out. Some people put forward an opinion that festivals, forums, exhibitions, cultural days are able to strengthen people relationship and change a social atmosphere. One good illustration of this is the Navruz holiday in Muslim countries. People gather in the central squares or parks to play horse sports games, taste traditional meals and ask forgiveness each other if they have a quarrel.

On the other hand, it is also possible to make the opposing case. It is often argued that an authority should pour the budget money to social matters such as health, education, economic. People often have this opinion because these benefits are able to rise up nations wellbeing and GDP. A second point is that there are great deals of people who do not have a dwelling. Moreover, the numbers of children suffer from ailments and amount of people cannot find a job. For instance, Kazakhstan organizes EXPO worldwide exhibition festival and spent five billion dollars while 45% of country inhabitants do not have a roof over their head and 20% of people do not have a temporary job.

In conclusion, I believe that both arguments have their merits. On balance, however, I tend to believe that government should solve social problems and harden country’s economy if they have redundant money.