More and more city workers are deciding to live in the country and travel into work every day. The result is decreased traffic congestion and damage to the environment. What measures do you think could be taken to encourage people not to travel such long distances into work?

There is a fact that traffic jams and environmental problems are worsened day by day due to the increasing number of peope who work in the city but choose to live in the countryside. In my opinion, there are some steps which can definately be taken to takle the problem.

First and foremost, I believe that the change must start with the welfare of the city. More money could be spent on creating accommodation for the workers, as lack of places to live can be the main reason why they choose to live in different areas. For example, in the South of Hanoi, Vietnam, many corporations have invested in a number of residental areas which are close to their office buildings. Also, since the expense for city life can be costly, companies can give extra salaries if the employees perform well in their tasks.

At the same time, the government should have some policies to encourage companies to put their factories or open branches in the rural areas. As a result, labor will set priority in looking for a job in their local areas and a large number of cars and buses which are usually full of people travelling on the road everyday will be reduced. Additionally, since the population in urban areas is decreased, such problems as traffic congestion can be more easilly controlled.

To sum up, I believe that the combination of the mentioned solutions can solve the problem of crowded traffic and environmental issues caused by the workers go through a long way to work everyday.