More and more people are expected to be living in the urban centres in the future. What problems can be caused? Should government encourage people to settle outside the city?

In modern times, an increased amount of people is migrating to the cities. This influx is going to be continued in the coming years, making urbanisation a pervasive issue. In this essay I will examine the problems caused by this, and explain why I feel that governments should lure people to be stablished in the countryside.

There are many problems linked to urbanisation, but the most significant one is related to the environment. Whereas currently, there is a collective effort to tackle the environmental problems in the urban areas, in the future they will be increased because of the continuing emigration of people in the city centres. More residents in a big city means more cars to commute from one place to another, resulting in traffic congestion. This results in a sheer amount of greenhouse gases emitted by the vehicles, provoking inimical effects to the atmosphere and ultimately to the environment. In other words, cities are the biggest polluters of the environment, and if people continue to migrate in the cities, the mitigation of pollution will be unfeasible.

Clearly, there is a dire need to deal with pollution in the city centres. Governments, and especially local authorities, should encourage people dwell back in the countryside. If governments inform citizens about the issues that stem from their decisions to be permanent residents of the urban centres, they will raise awareness and motivate them to migrate back to the rural areas, or even in the outskirts of cities. This could be possible by campaigns, for instance, related to the benefits of living in the countryside, or even alluring state aid to build new houses outside the city. Unless governments take the responsibility to eliminate the environmental problems caused by the increased number of cars, the air pollution and its effects to the environment will not be limited. Obviously, state authorities have the power to enhance citizens to live in the countryside.

In conclusion, the possible problems connected to the migration of people to the urban areas are unimaginable, with the most significant one the environmental pollution. To tackle this, governments should encourage people to leave cities and transmigrate to the countryside.