More and more young people from wealthy countries are spending a short time doing unpaid work such as teaching and building houses for communities in poorer countries. What are the reasons for this? Who benefits more from this, the communities or these young people?

There has been an ongoing trend of many young people from prosperous nations deciding to spend their time doing voluntary work in underprivileged countries. Some of the prominent reasons for this phenomenon will be discussed, before the benefits of both individuals and developing countries are analysed.

There are several convincing reasons associated with this practice. The most significant factor is that doing such unpaid work in poor countries would be a comparative advantage for the young when applying for a job in the future. In other words, in this fierce and competitive job market, a candidate possessing an application file accompanied by only great scores could not be the ideal one that a recruiter is finding; therefore, he or she needs outstanding volunteering experience to be able to compete with other rivals. Another reason that is worth mentioning is that young generations could engender the feeling of community when participating in unpaid work. Their voluntary efforts help to give prominence to the value of sharing and the sense of social responsibility to secure improved humanity and international awareness about disadvantaged places.

It is undoubted that both the young volunteers and underdeveloped or developing countries could equally gain from this phenomenon. Regarding the young, it is apparent that the aforementioned meaningful work not only brings the volunteers unforgettable life lessons, gives them hands – on experience but also helps expand their network of relationships. As a result, they gradually grow more mature and confident, realizing the diversity of life by getting to know many walks of people. In regard to poorer countries, they may have a chance to raise the living standards of their dwellers. For instance, knowledge related to environment protection or health care which they have acquired from overseas volunteers possibly improves their living conditions afterwards.

To sum up, the requirement of more competitive profile and the determination to support financially disadvantaged countries are the two principal elements that make young people join a wide range of voluntary activities. I would contend that both the volunteers and the community are the beneficiaries of the practice above.