Most people have forgotten the meaning behind traditional or religious festivals; during festival periods, peoplenowadays only want to enjoy themselves. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In recent discussion on festivals, there is an argument that people nowadays are likely to take opportunities of traditional or religious festivals to have fun and no longer remember the meaning of them. I totally admit that enjoyment seem to be the priority during festival period, however, forgetting what these festival mean is against my agreement.

It is undeniable fact that traditional or religious festivals have certainly been the period for celebrations all over the world. People during Christmas, for example, take time to go shopping, to decorate their houses, to have dinner together and to give presents to each other. Likewise, family gathers together on Mid-Autumn in China, Vietnam or Chuseok in Korea and watch children participating in the parades in the dark under the full moon with lanterns of various forms, shapes and colors or adults could join tin floating sky lanterns activity. Enjoyment is an indispensable part of the festivals, in other words, it is people’s primary goal.

The fact that the underlying meaning of the celebrations have been forgotten or ignored, however, is my strongest disagreement. Children nowadays have been taught about the reason why there is Christmas and the meaning of this period as well as a variety of traditional or religious festivals in other regions. Christmas song have been sung during its period and plays have been performed in churches telling the story of Jesus’s birth. Remember the meaning behind the festivals gives people chances to look back at their cultures, to remind them of their ancestors and to enhance the happier lives. Family plays an important and essential role in passing these knowledge of festivals to the next generation.

By the way of conclusion, I once again reaffirm my position that during traditional religious festivals, though people often have demand on enjoying themselves, I still think they also have awareness of the meaning behind these celebrations.