Most people have forgotten the meaning behind traditional or religious festivals; during festival periods, peoplenowadays only want to enjoy themselves. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In recent discussion on festivals, there is an argument that people nowadays are likely to take opportunities of traditional or religious festivals to have fun and no longer remember the meaning of them. I totally admit that enjoyment seems to be the priority during festival period, however, forgetting what these festivals represent is against my agreement.

It is undeniable fact that traditional or religious festivals are likely to be the period for celebrations all over the world. People during Christmas, for instance, take time to go shopping, to decorate their houses, to have dinner together and to give presents to each other. Likewise, families gather together on Mid-Autumn in China, Vietnam or Chuseok in Korea and watch children participating in the parades in the dark under the full moon with lanterns of various forms, shapes and colors, moreover, adults can enjoy themselves joining in floating sky lanterns activity. Enjoyment is an indispensable part of the festivals, in other words, it is people’s primary goal.

The fact that the underlying meaning of the celebrations have been forgotten or ignored, however, is my strongest disagreement. Children nowadays have been taught about the consideration of Christmas and the meaning of this period as well as a variety of traditional or religious festivals in other regions. Consequently, Christmas song has been sung and plays have been performed in churches telling the story of Jesus’s birth during its period. Remembering the meaning behind the festival gives people a chance to reflect their cultures, to remind them of their ancestors and to enhance the happier lives. Besides, family plays an essential role in passing the knowledge of festivals to the next generation.

By the way of conclusion, I once reaffirm my position that during traditional religious festivals that though people often have demand for enjoying themselves, I still believe they also have awareness of the essence behind these celebrations.