As most people spend a major part of their adult life at work, job satisfaction is an important element of individual well-being.

What factors contribute to job satisfaction? How realistic is the expectation of job satisfaction for all workers?

A vast majority of men and women spend a big part of their adult life at their workplace, satisfaction from one's employment is a crucial factor for an individual's well-being. This essay will discuss that a decent salary is the major contribution factor to bring a sense of satisfaction from work, however, the expectation of happiness from jobs for most workers is not met due to longer working hours.

A good income is a major source of contentment from one's work. That is to say, in this contemporary world, everyone works for money. Therefore, if they get good wages, they can not only battle financial woes but also fulfil their basic requirements. This makes their life comfortable and gives them a sense of satisfaction from the work they do. For example, a recent survey by The Job Magazine revealed that 80% of Google employees responded that handsome package is the biggest factor which makes them feel happy with their jobs.

However, when it comes to the expectation of all workers from their work, it is not realistic for the majority of them as they have to work for longer hours. That is to say, in many countries, due to an increased supply of labour, employees have to accept jobs with more work hours than normal shifts. Such working condition leads to physical and mental fatigue. As a consequence, they feel no satisfaction from their work. For example in India, in 2018, nearly 75% of factory workers in Verdhman industry went on strike because they were forced to work extra hours.

To conclude, a big part of adult life is spent on work by grown-ups and a significant element of one's well-being is satisfaction from one's job. Good earning is

the main source of pleasure from employment for employees, while not everyone's expectation from their job is realistic to make them satisfied.