As most people spend a major part of their adult life at work, job satisfaction is an important element of individual well-being.

What factors contribute to job satisfaction? How realistic is the expectation of job satisfaction for all workers?

Organizational psychology defines “job satisfaction” as a state of well being at work. In the modern world most of adult’s life time is spent on job .Hence it is considered as an important aspect in well being of a person. In the following essay we will discuss the contributing factors such as autonomy, job security , support, working hours, team work and weather all people on work has job satisfaction or not

Firstly, psychological and mental support is the most important requirement for job satisfaction. One can perform best when being praised for his effort and given the required things as needed. For example, if someone is not being trusted at a job, this will affect him in his subconscious and would not be able to work to his full potential. Similarly job security and working hours come thereafter, for instance a temporary job will always make an individual think about his future rather than focusing on the work. Lastly working hours play an import part in mental health being of a person. The normal human physiology demand certain stress free time to recover from the hardships of work. A misbalance in normal homeostasis will manifest itself as work stress.

On the other hand a common question arises that should every one expect such levels of satisfaction? In general all the people at work are not able to experience certain level of content. The reason being, the choice of job and personal effort at the job itself. for example , if a person has no interest in medicine he will always feel unhappy at work and thus would not be able to enjoy the satisfaction of job to its full.Similarly management of most of offices have to make certain cut downs and compromises for the businesses , hence a possibility of loosing jobs at any point of time given the economic circumstances.

In conclusion, job satisfaction is an amyl gum of personal happiness with the job , and support which helps one to enjoy his work life. Although it is achievable but most of the people are not able to enjoy it due to economic rise and fall and personal efforts. It is the need of hour for employers to give occupational health a better consideration to maximize the overall performance of working indivisauals and for their better future.