In most universities students focus on specialised subjects however, some people believe that universities should encourage students to study a wide spectrum of subjects. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give your opinion.

Nowadays, the working world is very competitive and demanding. Employers want the best for their companies, hence, they only hire people that can provide to their institutions new skills and knowledge. Bearing in mind this context, there are multifarious opinions amongst society, whether students should focus on specialised subjects, or should study a wide variety of topics.

It is true that studying more subjects not only implicates more time, but also students have to confront higher costs, as currently, education in many countries is very expensive. For these reasons, many learners decide to specialise in one subject, rather than widening their boundaries. Nevertheless, by studying one specific subject they can also have the opportunity to acquire specific skills and knowledge, that for sure, will help them with their further jobs, projects or interests. In addition, by focusing only in one topic, they might reach more important career goals; become more successful than other graduates that have decided to study more than one topic; or even find jobs easily as they respond to the specific profile that owners are looking for.

On the other hand, many people believe that because our society has evolved very fast within few years, future employees should be required to manage more than one subject at a time. This situation implies that the future working world is going to be even more challenging and demanding, than what it is nowadays. Therefore, specialists suggest that the best way to get ready for this upcoming situation is by studying as more subjects as possible. For example, journalists in the past needed to have good skills at traditional media such as newspapers, radio stations or televisions. Currently, and because of the influence that technology has in our lives, they are required to be multi-skilled, otherwise, they will be left behind and employers will no longer hire them. This, it is only one easy example, amongst many others, of how the working world is evolving and how important it is to dominate more than one subject.

Overall, I believe that universities should encourage their students to learn more than one subject at a time. By doing this, professors will not only encourage their docents to be more competitive and successful, but also will provide them more knowledge and skills, that for sure, are going to benefit them when working in whatever occupation.