New parents should attend a parenting course to learn how to bring up their children well To what extent do you agree or disagree

It is not uncommon that first-time parents often feel excited but nervous at the same time. Arising parenting classes designed for this population aim for tutoring services to assist new parents in raising their children. From my point of view, I believe that this is a great initiative.

Parents feel nervous, mainly because they lack the confidence to provide good care for their first child due to limited knowledge, skills, and experiences. The parenting courses are right on these topics that cover a broad range of the relative contents such as breastfeeding, sleep training, and risk prevention, which are delivered by either skillful nurses or so-called parenting experts. After they graduate, many course instructors will continuously follow up until parents are equipped with competent knowledge and skills, of course, full confidence. Accordingly, these courses not only benefit first-time mothers and fathers, but they ultimately favour newborns’ healthy growth from the beginning even before birth.

Admittedly, other resources on parenting are accessible for parents, like online blogs and Facebook articles. However, safety is concerned as the information from social media can be published by anyone who might not be well-educated or professionally-trained in this area of specialty, which also has no surveillance system on-site to ensure the reliability and validity of the contents. Therefore, the misconceptions may be easily introduced and hence mislead confusing new parents. A recent tragedy occurred in an Asian country. Numerous newborn babies presented severe failure to survive and iron deficiency anemia after their parents listened to a popular article on a renowned microblog to feed babies with unfortified soy milk rather than breast milk. Suppose the parents had attended some scientific and structured parenting programmes which provided sessions on clarifying media information. In that case, the babies may have never experienced developmental delay after receiving much better nutrients from breast milk with other precious values.

In sum, a parenting course excels a valuable role that will ease new parents' nerves by assisting and managing their parenting practice through the confusing but beautiful first-time experience. Therefore, I strongly agree that a parenting course is necessary for them to learn.