New technologies have changed the way children spend their free time. Do advantages of this outweigh disadvantages?

Children living in some countries currently choose to stick with electric devices in their free time. I accept that this tendency has some benefits, I also believe that its potential problems are more significant.

On the one hand, there are some positive impacts of young people accessing to technology. The first benefit is that children may find it interesting to gain in-depth knowledge about technology. Since they have a grasp of technological knowledge, the youths tend to become a scientist, or an engineer in the future. This is likely to have an important role in solving the lack of people working in these fields in many parts of the world. In addition, children taking part in activities related to technology at home may decrease the risk of facing with troubles and society’s vices outside. For example, offspring do not have to worry about hitting by vehicles on the roads, if they just play games or watch television in their house.

On the other hand, I believe that the benefits are outweighed by the drawbacks. Firstly, the rate of people wearing glasses or contacts in the early ages is extremely high in many nations. By overusing eyes and concentrating for hours on computer or television’s screens, children may deal with Eyestrain and short-sighted eyes. As a result, they need glasses to correct their vision. Secondly, spending too much time on technological devices can hold young individuals back from gaining communication and social skills which are indispensable skills when they grow up. Therefore, this has detrimental effects not only on their eye health, but also on their future.

In conclusion, I admit that there are some benefits of children accessing technology. However, I believe the negative impacts are more significant.