News editors decide what to broadcast on television and what to print in newspapers. What factors do you think influence these decisions? Do we become used to bad news? Would it be better if more good news was reported?

It is often been said that "Good news are bad news" because it does not sell the newspaper. Nowadays majority of news editors have a problem with decisions what to broadcast on television and what to print in newspapers. A radio station once decided to present only good news, but soon they found that it had gone out of business and they lost their listeners. It is obvious that, people become immune to bad news and they attracted peoples attention more than good news do.

Firstly, newspapers and TV stations may aim to report world events accurately, it can be natural or human disaster, or political events and horrors of war. The main purpose of editors is attempt to reflect listeners or readers to their station respectively. There are various programs on TV and radio aspired to reflect the flavor of people. Programs specializing in pop music or TV soap operas, which are focused on local news, up-to-date traffic reports and home issues. The more serious stations and newspapers like to provide "so called" objective news reports with editorial comments aimed to analyzing the situation.

On the other hand, the newspapers and TV stations are tailoring their news to their listeners or readers requirements, but in this way, how can they possibly be reporting real events in an honest and objective light? Many radio and TV stations report items of good news. Probably, they refer to human interest to such kind of programs with specializing, for instance, in consumer affairs or local issues.