News editors decide what to broadcast on television and what to print in newspapers. What factors do you think influence these decisions? Do we become used to bad news? Would it be better if more good news was reported?

Use your own ideas knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

Current events are so filled with bad news that people as an audience has gotten to the point of being over saturated with it. Bureau news chiefs control what to show on television and what to write down on print materials. This essay aims to provide examples as to why these decisions are made. Personally, however, I would rather hear something good just to relieve the stress of everyday living.

Modern times brought about advancements in modern media. In such, stories of crime became the bread and butter for most news editors from across the globe. A prime example, news about killing of drug pushers is so common in the evening news. Where persons of interest are seemingly being gunned down like flies. For a news company, they print and broadcast these stories to stay more relevant as media outlets, therefore, still getting the necessary funding's to keep the business running. Another prime examples of bad news that catches attention of the masses are stories of government corruption, where taxes of most middle classes go straight to politician's pockets. For media outlets, it is one of their primal duties to let people know of irregularities going on in the government. For them, it is a power rested and responsibility so that people can take action, either through social media- shaming or literally going out on the streets to voice out against the government. There are good news that ocassionally gets shown but still most of these news are being overpowered by the oversaturation of negative news.

In conclusion, media chiefs have all the resources to show or print the type of news they wish to broadcast. However, they choose to show the more negative side of life as it generates more funds because of more viewers, and news that have more social implications to the masses. I would prefer to have higher side news added more in mainstream media, regardless whether printed or broadcast media. People, with all things going wrong around them, deserves to have a temporary reprieve from all this negativities.