Nowadays doctors can become very rich. Maybe they should not focus on profitable activities such as plastic surgery or looking after rich patients and concentrate more on patient's health, no matter how rich they are?

To be a doctor is not an easy task as this occupation can be a massive source of income which lead doctors to do profitable activities. Meanwhile, doctors should not forget their vow to humanity which put other people’s health as their priority. I believe that doctors must be able to balance between activities that service societies for free and gainful activities.

Physicians and other health specialists must help people to become healthier as part of their humanity services. In Indonesia, health cost is very expensive as many drugs and peripherals are imported from advanced countries. Thus, doctors are able to reduce the cost by minimizing their fees. For example, physicians give free health consultation for the poor people in a remote area once in a week. This would certainly help impoverished people to gain better health.

However, humanity services can be so stressful that not every physician is able to deal with. In order to maintain their excellent services, they need a way to reduce the tension by having a vacation or relax doing things that they like. Some activities are free, but some others may require a certain amount of money. In this context, it is acceptable that some doctors take charges to their patients and even higher for rich patients.

To sum up, people expect doctors to concentrate on humanity rather than profit. This expectation must be balanced with an understanding that physicians are humans who need time and money to fulfill their life needs. As a return, doctors should appreciate people’s understanding by giving their best service to society.