Nowadays it is possible to use computers and mobile phones for automatic language translation, and there is no need for human translators and interpreters.

Do you agree or disagree with this statement ?

Some people are of the view that, there is no point in seeking for human, as translators and interpreters. Mobile phones and computers nowadays, are capable of automatic language translation. However, others oppose such a view.

To begin with, we cannot deny the sophistication brought about, by technology nowadays. It is a common trend that people use their smart phones for translation or even interpretation. People can now turn on voice navigation in their phones, in any language of their choice, and it would interpret directions diligently. Moreover, they care portable, hence one can take it wherever they wish to. It is also possible to place them on a repeat mode if you missed on something. With all these features by the modern computers and mobile phones, there is no point in adopting human translators and interpreters.

In contrary, there are some tasks a mobile device cannot perform. For instance, a human interpreter or translator can always illustrate and demonstrate further. For example, if one do not understand the word, ‘’tough’’, when translated, a human translator can come up with a synonym. Moreover, can perform gestures to clarify further. This provides a solid insight of what is being referred to.

Furthermore, computers and mobile phones need to be updated. If not, they would not be reliable. This therefore, elucidates that technological devices are not very reliable after all.

In conclusion, whether to substitute human translators for mobile phones and computers has triggered a debate among people. However, I assert that should both be used equally , there will be more benefits.