Nowadays a large amount of advertising is aimed at children. Some people think this can have negative effects on children and should be banned. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the development of the advertising industry, children are being bombarded with loads of advertisements. Some believe that this way of product promotion has impacts on future generations and should be forbidden. Although I agree with the former, I would argue against the ban on ads.

To commence, placing adverts aimed at children may create false beliefs in them about the products. In other words, they will be misled by the information in promotional videos that claim to have powerful effects on their health. Take for example the ads for Hero, a kind of milk made by Vinamilk, which shows the images of a hero who has superpowers thanks to having the milk on a daily basis. Also, by exaggerating the features of the goods, ads stimulate children to make wrong buying decisions. They will soon get fed up with it or in some cases, the items bought are not as good as they had expected.

Despite the aforementioned minus points, I strongly believe that it is not necessary to put an end to ads whose target is immature kids owing to the merits they have. First, watching advertisements can be considered an excellent form of entertainment. Some advertisements are hilarious and include catchy tunes with easy-to-remember lyrics, hence encouraging children to sing and dance along. Moreover, it is also a huge source of information. Children can be provided with knowledge about different aspects of life while enjoying themselves. For instance, an advertisement for a hand wash raises their awareness about personal hygiene. Most importantly, this promotion approach allows parents and children to make comparisons regarding prices, and quality of the products. By doing this, they can make the best choice of goods.

All things considered, although I show my approval of the idea that ads directed at young children may do certain harm to their decision-making and belief about the good, showing adverts is necessary not only to develop the businesses themselves but also beneficial to parents and children’s shopping habits.