Nowadays many people choose to be self employed rather than to work for a company or organisation Why might this be the case What could be the disadvantages of being self employed

In recent times, a lot of individuals are in front of a dilemma related to their working life, even though most of them choose to start their own business rather than working in a company. There is a plethora of reasons behind this preference, but the disadvantages of such a career choice are related to its risk.

As far as the causes of choosing self-employment are concerned, this phenomenon has been the norm the last decades because of its freedom. Firstly, being an entrepreneur is allied to being in charge of your business’ decision making. In this way, individuals can explore numerous creative solutions to problems that arise and have the satisfaction of seeing their ideas through to completion. Secondly, as well as creative freedom, self-employed are also able to set their own working time management and fit their work around other commitments, which often leads to an improved quality of life. As a result, people choose starting their own business because of the psychological improvement that they expect to achieve in their job, and therefore this has been recently the status quo of the majority of workers. For instance, according to the Office for National Statistics, there are five million self-employed people in the UK, accounting for roughly 15% of the labour market.

In contrast, there are several demerits associated with being self-employed associated with the capital crisis, as well as the lack of being comparative. First and foremost, it is obvious that starting a new business means investing a huge amount of money and savings. Sometimes, individuals find it difficult to raise their investments and carry on with their budget, resulting in a closure. However, the risk of losing the money spent is not the only related to self-employment. There is also the danger of not establishing such a well-known company, and eventually not being comparative to the businesses of the related market. Inevitably, without creating the clientele needed to be recognized as a new firm, the career choice of being self-employed is discouraged.

In conclusion, even if the freedom related to many aspects of working experience is the benefit of self-employment, the possibility of an enormous debt and the difficulties of competition are its costs.