Nowadays, more and more people decide to have children later in their life. What do you think are the reasons for this? Do advantages of this trend outweigh disadvantages?

In recent years, the delaying of childbirth has become significantly popular around the world. There are several reasons for this issue and it could affect family as well as society negatively.

There are some reasons why people put off having children. First, parents in the late 30s and early 40s are waiting to have babies because of the desire for their own house and financial stability. Take the US as an example, the cost of raising children is from $200,000 to $400,000 that is a big amount for young parents to afford. This demonstrates that they have to earn enough money and pursue their career to support for their kids. Second, if they decide to have children later in life, they will have more time to enjoy life, understand each other and avoid breaking up their relationship before giving birth.

However, I strong believe that this trend have an adverse impact on family lives and society. It is common knowledge that middle-aged pregnant women have more mishaps of being miscarriage or some preexisting health problems namely high blood pressure and gestational diabetes as well as their new-born child could have more risks of inborn diseases. Furthermore, the fall of fertility rate can result in a lack of the labor force, which influences the development of the national economy. In addition to increasing infertility with age, the risks of older parenthood also include the parents having less energy and the grandparents having less involvement in the children's lives.

In conclusion, the decision of having babies early or late depends on many factors. Besides, it is believed that having children later could leave detrimental effects on society and family's life.