Nowadays, more and more people decide to have children later in their life. What are the reasons? Do the advantages of this outweigh disadvantages?

In some nations, the ubiquitous trend amongst households is that couples make a decision to delay childbirth. This essay will consider the reasons for this trend and the possible effects on families and society.

There are numerous reasons why both men and women have a tendency to have children late in life. First of all, couples, especially married ones have a preference for savoring the private space before welcoming a new member. In fact, nowadays, a large number of wives and husbands spend about a year participating in interesting activities together such as going on a honeymoon or travelling in order to intensify the bond as well as love for each other. Secondly, men and women have a strong desire to achieve great success before giving birth to babies. That is because having children is synonymous with the fact the expenditure on each aspect will rise dramatically so it is difficult for them to attain work-life balance. Therefore, postponing settling down is considered as a better choice.

There are abundant possible influences on families and society. On the one hand, giving birth late at night can make an adverse impact on children’s physical condition and mental health. For example, in accordance with some digital sources of reliable news, children given birth by women who at their mid-30s or more can have the risk of mortality or suffering from severe diseases like autism or DOWN syndrome. However, these drawbacks are possibly pale in comparison with the benefits. Obviously, having children late in life can provide wives and husbands with more time to prepare both finance and mentality. For instance, they can strive to save a large amount of money for bearing and raising babies in the future or become ready to take parental responsibility to take care of them. The result of this is that family life is likely to be steadier and parents will have more time spent on playing with babies, which is extremely beneficial for children’s comprehensive development.

In conclusion, the decision of having babies late of women and men in some countries has a myriad of contributing factors. In spite of some dangers of deteriorating children’s health, it is much better for couples to give birth late in life.