Nowadays people are purchasing more than they need Is this a positive or a negative trend Give your opinion and examples based on your experience and knowledge

Consumerism is what driving the todays generations forward, we can see the influence of advertisement on each every purchase decisions we make. People are forced to buy lot more than what they actually needed, because of the tentacles of so called modern marketing strategies. In my opinion, it is completely a negative trend.

To begin with, many of these Ad's are actually misleading the end consumers by projecting false claims and offers. As a result, consumers eventually lose there sweat money without getting the desired product. Moreover, there are lot of people in the world living under poverty without getting enough food and basic necessities, at the same time some parts of the world are wasting their money on purchasing items more than their required quantity. If they could have able control this nature, these extra resources can be used for naturing the poverty problem to some extent.

In addition, world is trying hard to deal with the ever increasing problem of waste disposal. No matter whether it is food waste or E-waste, authorities are spending such a lot of money on the effective disposal of these items. For instance, according to the recent studies most of these waste are generated as a results of person's over buying nature. On top of that, there will be over exploitation of natural resources because of this humans greed habbit, especially in the case of food items and natural resources. Such as, if we go to a supermarket, we can often see offers like if we buy a certain quantity of item, we will get a 10 or 15 percent discount on it's original price. So consumers automatically purchase that much quantity even if they don't want it.

To recapitulate, I think the people need to think twice before buying something. Whether they actually need that much product or less and also they should think about the impact of such practices as well. Such a way we can develop a sustainable buying pattern among them.