Nowadays, in some countries around the world men and women are having children late in life. What are the reasons for this development? What are the effects on society and family life?

There seems to be a recent tendency that many young people do not want to have babies early in their life. They have several reasons for this choice, but it could pose to some impacts on both the society and their own family.

It is obvious that in these days, a large number of individuals are not ready to start a family when they are still young. Spending more time enjoying life is these people’s priority, which might be considerably affected if they get married and have children. My elder sister named Mai, for example, is 30 years old and has a stable job as a Chinese interpreter. Her time is spent on working and traveling on business trips. A baby can prevent her from pursuing successful career when the amount of time seems to be divided between her family and job. That’s why she decides not to have a baby at this time.

Also, unstable income and career as well are main causes for young couples to delay their making-a-family decision. Spouses need enough money to nurture their babies, which may become a hindrance to young parents in their early stage of career without stable income and a well-paid job. As a result, many people choose to acquire stability in career when they are able to ensure a better life before getting married and starting to raise a family.

However, this choice might bring some drawbacks to not only family life but also the society. The generation gap between parents and children will be clearly expanded if the children are born later. The parents are highly likely to have more difficulties in understanding, communicating with and educating their offspring. Additionally, babies born by too old humans could suffer from mental and physical problems which result in the low- quality workforce in the future.

In conclusion, the choice of having a baby late might be popularly preferred nowadays due to various benefits, but young couples should take it into careful consideration to avoid negative effects on their family and community.