Nowadays some older people choose to live in retirement communities with other people rather than living with their adult children Is it a positive or negative development

There is a growing number of older people, in our modern life, residing in retirement communities with others rather than living with their family members. Although this trend can bring several benefits in certain aspects, I believe it might be a detrimental development.

On the one hand, it is understandable why some elderly individuals choose to live with others instead of with their adult children. First, it would be happier for them to live with those of the same age. many retirement communities, in fact, often only permit people over 65 age to reside, which allows the elderly to connect with others and share their preferences effortlessly, bringing a sense of community. Second, some do not want to become a burden to their family when they are unable to take care of themselves. If they live in nursing homes, they can take advantage of care services to assist them, which not only brings a sense of convenience but also improves their health substantially.

On the other hand, I would contend that living in retirement communities can have adverse effects on society as a whole. One obvious drawback is that it puts a great strain on not only social welfare but also healthcare services. Indeed, since most nursing homes are free for the elderly if there are too many people, the government has to establish more infrastructure and invest more funds in it, which may cause a deficit in government coffers, reducing welfare for another purpose. Furthermore, it can contribute to the generation gap. If adult children do not live with their grandparents, they tend not to be friendly to the elderly due to their ability to understand, which can loss of family and generation affection.