Nowadays some people claim that public museums and art galleries will not be needed because people can see historical objects and works of art by using a computer. Do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

The prevalence of the internet has dominated all aspects of life. People can even enjoy the masterpieces of famous artists worldwide without having to travel from one place to another. Therefore, some argue that museums and art galleries are no longer necessary and should be closed. From a personal perspective, the convenience technologies offer can never be comparable to the values museums and exhibition rooms bring about.

To a certain extent, the Internet has become an ideal option for those who lead a busy lifestyle and are on a budget while having a heated desire for art. With a smart device, art lovers are enabled to admire the beauty of art and get access to masterpieces and other artworks in the comfort of their own homes with just a click despite geographical distances. This also means that cultural tours become more cost-effective when tourists do not have to expense a great deal on air tickets and hotel rooms, which could be invested in other necessities. More importantly, there is completely no restriction on time and locations, hence, people can pay a virtual visit wherever and whenever they find convenient, not having to undergo complex procedures regarding reserving and queuing to get in. Thus, it could be said that the Internet has made our experience more convenient and economical.

Nevertheless, despite the merits the Internet offers, a real trip to historical museums and exhibitions is undoubtedly a valuable experience. Traveling is not simply observation but also inspiration. Having a closer look at artifacts, sculptures, paintings, and other ancient objects, not only can visitors enjoy the true values of art, sophisticated patterns, and designs, but they are also inspired by the works of renowned artists. In other words, their sense of national pride and patriotism may be evoked when they directly observe tools their ancients had used to survive. Additionally, museums can be considered an asset of the tourism industry. International tourists are usually attracted by the history and traditional customs of the nation they visit. Therefore, maintaining such historical architecture contributes significantly to the development of the local economy, improving inhabitants’ living standards.

All things considered, albeit economic and time benefits, it is advisable that museums and art galleries should be maintained.