Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing (for example, through cell phone tracking and security cameras). In many cases, the people being monitored are unaware that this is happening.

Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Modern advancements, at present, is becoming a popular trend in monitoring people's actions and words. On most occassions, subjects under close observation are not aware of the situation they are in. Personally, I favor the advantages than the harms it may cause.

The increasing usage of tracking technology in surveying people's daily routine causes some to feel insecure, others see it as invasion of privacy. One good example, is proliferation of security cameras or CCTV's, most establishments install CCTV's as a way to deter any potential shoplifters and other wrongdoers. However, there had been cases in which these cameras were put in hidden places, most notably in trial or fitting rooms, clearly an invasion of privacy. Another example, citizens are put under cellphone surveillance, thus losing any sense of nights to privacy, a huge number of messages and phone calls are filtered by government for security purposes.

In spite of these seen flaws, others are in favor of such close monitoring. Case in point with the continous fight against terrorism, with the help of cellphone trackers and security cameras, Allied force were able to track down and neutralize the world's top terrorist Osama bin Laden. Still, another good example where CCTV's can be of great assistance is during a crime. The abundance of cameras amongst all highposts and other installations can make a great deal of help as they can record all the events that happened in a given time, this can be useful if there are no witnesses to a certain crime.

In summary, it is widely accepted that monitoring people with the use of technology brings many draw bucks, but then again, the usefulness still outweighs the flaws, considering it entails the safety and security of the larger number of the population, I am personally in favor of the letter.